17.—Lieutenant-Governors of New Brunswick, 1867-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note.-See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Col. F. P. Harding. L. A. Wilmot. Samuel Leonard Tilley. E. Barron Chandler. Robert Duncan Wilmot. Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley. John Boyd. John S. Fraser. A. R. McClelan.	Oct. 18, 1867 July 14, 1868 Nov. 5, 1873 July 16, 1878 Feb. 11, 1880 Oct. 31, 1885 Sept. 21, 1893 Dec. 20, 1893	JAREZ B. SNOWBALL. L. J. TWEEDIE. JOSTAH WOOD. G. W. GANONG. WILLIAM PUGSLEY. WILLIAM F. TODD. Major-Gen, HUGH H. MCLEAN. Col. MURRAY MACLAREN. W. G. CLARE. DAVID LAURENCE MACLAREN	June 29, 1916 Nov. 6, 1917 Feb. 24, 1923 Dec. 11, 1928 Feb. 5, 1935	

Legislatures, 1934-501

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 19, 1930 June 27, 1935 Nov. 20, 1939 Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948	10th General Assembly	4 5 4	Feb. 12, 1931 Mar. 5, 1936 Apr. 4, 1940 Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949	May 22, 1935 Oct. 26, 1939 July 10, 1944 May 18, 1948 2

¹ The Ministries from 1934-50 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in June 1, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. L. P. D. Tilley; 20th Ministry, sworn in July 16, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry, sworn in Mar. 13, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair. ² Life of Legislature not expired at time of going to press.

Twenty-First Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 28, 1948: 47 Liberals and 5 Progressive Conservatives.) Norg.-Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment,

despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer and President of Executive Council Minister of Public Works Minister of Lands and Mines Minister of Agriculture Minister of Health and Social Services Minister of Labour Minister of Industry and Develop- ment Minister of Industry and Develop- ment Minister without portfolio (Chair- man of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission)	Hon. J. B. MCNAIR. Hon. J. GASPARD BOUCHER. Hon. W. S. ANDERSON. Hon. RICHARD J. GILL. Hon. A. C. TAYLOR. Hon. F. A. MCGRAND. HON. SAMUEL E. MOOERS. HON. JAMES W. BRITTAIN. HON. J. A. DOUCET. HON. ISALE MELANSON.	May 16, 1946 July 16, 1935 Sept. 27, 1944 Sept. 27, 1944 Nov. 2, 1948 Sept. 27, 1944	Mar. 13, 1940 Aug. 10, 1949 July 16, 1938 May 16, 1946 July 16, 1935 Sept. 27, 1944 Sept. 27, 1944 Nov. 2, 1948 Sept. 27, 1944 Aug. 11, 1949	

Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Executive Council is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor and the Ministers of the Crown. These are: the Premier and President of the Executive Council; the Solicitor General; the Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Lands and Forests; the Minister of Health; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; the Minister